MASA Board Slate & Nominations

The following individuals have expressed interest in the positions listed below.  MASA is still accepting nominations and will announce the final slate at the May 8th spring lunch meeting.

A.    President-Elect is responsible for planning events and all communication to the membership. This is the first year of a three year term; second term will serve as president; third year as past-president.

Candidate: Amy Rettammel, Office of Clinical Trials 

B.     Secretary is responsible for recording, preparing, and distributing the minutes of all general membership and board meetings.  The secretary also conducts the annual elections. Term of office is two years.

Candidates: Michelle Holland, Cellular and Molecular Biology and Mallory Musolf, Neuroscience Training Program

If you are interested in running for either of these positions, please contact: Heather Mc Fadden

MASA Annual Meeting and Luncheon

Wednesday, May 8, 2013
MASA Annual Meeting and Luncheon

11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
University Club
803 State Street

Guest Speaker
Sue Riseling, Chief of Police/Associate Vice Chancellor
Topic:  Gun Control Issues
Come join your MASA colleagues for information, networking, business, good food and company.

Register here. Registration deadline: Wednesday, May 1st

Payment Options
Because we are trying to make annual membership dues more convenient for our members, we are including payment options that allow for concurrent lunch payment and membership renewal.

1. Current MASA Members (including all who attended this year’s Academic Staff Institute):

  • Lunch: $6.00
  • Lunch and membership renewal for 2013-14: $16

2. Non-members:

  • Lunch: $12
  • Lunch and membership renewal for 2013-14: $16

Search for UW-Madison Secretary of the Academic Staff

Application Deadline:  Friday, April 19, 2013
Position Description and Application Information at:

A search committee has been formed to identify the next Secretary of the Academic Staff at UW-Madison due to Donna Silver’s retirement on January 3, 2013.   Brenda Spychalla, Assistant Director of MERIT at School of Education chairs the committee.   Other search committee members include: Marwa Bassiouni, Translational Technologies Resource Core (TTRC) administrator with the Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (ICTR) ; Mo Bischof, assistant vice provost; Bruno Browning, chief information officer, College of Letters & Science; Barb Gerloff, assistant dean for student services in the School of Education; Robin Kurtz, distinguished faculty associate in the Department of Bacteriology; Kevin Niemi, outreach director for the Institute for Biology Education; and Jeff Shokler, assistant director for Advising Technology and Assessment.
Additional information can be found in the April 2nd edition of Inside UW-Madison at: